When places turn into people you can’t seem to let go.

CameraZOOM-20130323164703858When places turn into people you can't seem to let go.

“The sea does not reward those who are too anxious, too greedy, or too impatient. One should lie empty, open, choice-less as a beach – waiting for a gift from the sea.”
~ Anne Morrow Lindbergh

It’s been well over a year since I was first introduced to this place. Bethells Beach, just an hour from my new house and a couple minutes from my childhood hometown. I had absolutely no idea this place existed until I was lucky enough to have been the date of a handsome young man – I now call the love of my life. It wasn’t easy. It, meaning us, didn’t happen quickly and it wasn’t easy at all. In fact, it was the hardest ‘thing’ I’ve ever been through and it was this place that kept me going. For 9 whole months after saying my prayers, I fell asleep thinking of this place and the guy I couldn’t seem to let go because we couldn’t be – and so, I waited.

Yes, I waited… 9 long months. It wasn’t easy and at times I faded. I came here only a couple times and after the first, I knew it ought to be my new safe haven. I’m here almost every weekend and every other day I can make it. Most of my photographic shots are taken here from different angels, lenses and cliff-tops. I train here and I’ve found this place to be a second home. My home and place of refuge.

So, what happens when places turn into people? Well, on my end – I just don’t let them go. I never forget moments and I’m always reminded through photos. Most importantly, I never come here alone. This place has deep sentimental meaning where I just don’t feel right coming here without the man who shared this place with me and so we’ve made it a vow to not be here one without the other.

I’ve never expected anyone to understand why or how. I understand that there are people who will frown upon relationships without truly knowing anything about it and that’s fine by me. This place is proof. Proof that relationships alone, like ours, are not built of the opinions of others or expectations as a result of unending trends in such a modern society. It’s also proof that there is nothing wrong with being alone. Nothing like the comfort of the sea, sand and sunset. But for that of those who know how this feels – just imagine a love so strong you couldn’t do something significant without the other. Imagine a place so resplendently beautiful you couldn’t bare seeing it alone.

4 thoughts on “When places turn into people you can’t seem to let go.

Leave a Reply

